Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

How do I shut a PC down from Netlinx?

Hi,
I have a job with nextlinx master and a G4 TP, I already have Wake on Lan figured out to turn the PC on. Now I need a way to turn the PC off with no user action(client Requested). I would prefer to do this with no extra hardware. I know Windows XP has a "Shutdown" command. Is there any way to trigger that command from Netlinx? Any Ideas?

Comments

• A quick idea is to use AMX ctrl relays connected in parallel with PC power button.
  • jeffacojeffaco Posts: 121
    I wouldn't suggest a power relay. Just yanking power on a computer is a bad idea; work in progress can (and will) be lost. And wiring into most power switches can be difficult (these days, they're frequently 'all in one' designs right on a circuit board).

Windows does have remote shutdown capabilities, but talking the Windows protocol in order to execute it would be painful, most likely. I've never tried to write code to transmit those bits, but with all the security going into Windows these days, it's not something I'd be enthusiastic about.

Probably an easier path is to write a little service installed on the Windows system that listens on a TCP/IP port for NetLinx commands and executes a Windows shutdown via the Windows API. The service would be pretty trivial to write (likely an hour or two at the most if you know Windows programming at all).

Then you control the TCP/IP protocol from the NetLinx system to the Windows system - you can do anything you want there, and trigging the shutdown would involving connecting to the Windows service you wrote on a known port and sending the shutdown signal. Just a few lines of NetLinx code.
  • Spire_JeffSpire_Jeff Posts: 1,917