Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

TCP communications howto

Hi folks,

I have some embedded devices that can be controlled via telnet, and I'd like to control them from my Netlinx master (& receive info back). I've never done this before (only having recently transitioned from Axcess), so would appreciate any advice, tips & tricks, or pointers to tutorials.

Thank you!

Comments

• jeffacojeffaco Posts: 121
    Audiotron, SyslogMod, and TimeSync are all working examples of code that do TCP/IP communications.

They're open source and up on SourceForge:

http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.py/netlinx-modules/NetLinx-Modules/

Hope this helps,

-- Jeff
  • Thanks Jeff. Actually, I use your SyslogMod already, and it's extremely nice. I didn't think to look in there. :)

Do I just use ip_client_open to port 23 on the remote machine? Does it matter which outgoing port I use (since I'd like to open a bunch of these, is there any specific block I ought to use? Does the NI-3000 support the full 65k some odd ports)?
  • In general, when the connection is established on IP level, you may send and receive any data, depending on the protocol and data handling of the device you want to control.

Find attached an example for a Sony SNC-RZ30 professional WebCam. this unit is controlled by HTTP.

Also included are two more examples, one for the NetLinx as a Client and one for NetLinx as Server.
  • TCP communications howto

In response to your specific questions, yes, you would use IP_CLIENT_OPEN() with a target IP address of your desired server and with port 23 as the desired port. If your server requires authentication as part of the connection sequence, you will have to include that as part of your ONLINE handling for when the connection is first made.