Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads AMX Hardware

Axcent 2?

Greetings,

I am looking at upgrading a system that contains an Axcent 2. I have never worked with one of these before. Do they work like Axcent 3s where you can put them into a slave mode and give them a starting Axlink channel? I would like to leave the Axcent 2 in place and continue to use it for IR controls.

The website seems to have no operating manuals for the unit.

Thanks you.

Comments

• Joe HebertJoe Hebert Posts: 2,159
    Do they work like Axcent 3s where you can put them into a slave mode
    Nope. No slave mode for an Axcent 2.
  • DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    The bad part is they aren't even weighty enough to use as a boat anchor, but a little too big for a paperweight. Perhaps you can come up with a nice hack for the case, and get it featured in Make magazine :).
  • Axcent2 as a control device in a NetLinx System

Perhaps you could use the the control ports on the Axcent2 with just a little effort.

Write a custom control protocol for the RS232 ports on the two systems that pass button pushes and releases from the NetLinx system to the Axcent 2. Then run some Axcess code in the Axcent2 that decodes the strings and sends IR or pulses relays as necessary.
  • Another strange way to use the AXcent2 with a NetLinx Master may be the "External control protocol", documented i.e. in the AXB-PCCOM manual. For this you have to write a program for the AXcent2 which sets one of the serial ports into that mode, so it will be interpreted as any device input (PUSH/RELEASE/etc). From the NetLinx master you'll send Strings in the notation of the external protocol, and this will emulate a PUSH or RELEASE into the AXcent2, so only a standard program for the AXcent2 must be written to do your IR controls.

As I said, it's very strange, but at home, in this way I'm controlling the Volume channels of my AXcent1 with my NetLinx Master....