Home AMX User Forum AMX Technical Discussion

RS232C help please

Sorry, but I am just starting out and trying to learn AMX programming.

Can someone please help me with sending RS232 commands. I'm trying to learn the commands to control a Yamaha RX-V1600 Receiver.

I've got the RS-232 protocol document from yamaha here:

http://www.yamaha.com/yec/customer/codes/RX-V1600_V2600_RS232C_ST.pdf

Problem is, I don't know how to translate the information on the doc to a useful SEND_STRING command. BTW, I'm using an Axcent Pro3 controller.

Anyone controlled a Yammie amp via RS-232 before? Help!

Comments

• TurnipTruckTurnipTruck Posts: 1,485
    Well you certainly picked a doozie to start with.

Do you understand the concepts of serial communication? The relationship between ASCII, binary and hex? These things are important before you begin trying to decode the document you referred to.
  • I agree with Turnip. The Yahmaha receiver 232 codes are tough to understand, especially for your first try at 232 commands.

AMX has pre-written modules for products that really help when controlling a piece like the Yamaha...but it is written for the newer NI series processors and not the Axcent. (Sort of a double whammy for you.) Instead of deciphering Yamaha's code, you simply do a send_command to the virtual device with something like 'power=1:1' and zone one turns on. All of the hard work is done for you.
  • frthomasfrthomas Posts: 176
    Yup, certainly looks like a hard nut to crack, this Yamaha.

If you're just looking at learning the ropes, I would recommend finding some other, simpler, serial device to begin. If you need to get it working for a project, I'd also recommend using the ready made module as a first step.

Which step do you have a problem with?

HTH

Fred
  • Thomas HayesThomas Hayes Posts: 1,164
    Extron is a nice and simple RS-232 code to start learning with.
  • pdabrowskipdabrowski Posts: 184