Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads AMX Applications and Solutions
Options

Interfacing Extron MLC-206 with AMX-NI 3000

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie to amx programming seeking assistance on interfacing an Extron MLC-206 with the AMX controller to perform switching (Kramer Vp23xI) and volume control (AXB-Vol3).

The Extron MLC-206 is RS-232 wired to the AMX-NI3000 and the switcher RS-232 to the AMX Controller. I've programmed the NI & MVP-7500 to control & switch the required devices. However, i'm clueless about the MLC.

How to programme using NetLinx Language to perform the following:

1. MLC-206 communicate with the AMX-NI to switch the Kramer VGA output when e.g. computer input is selected.

3. Extron Volume control communicate with AXB-Vol3.

2.when MLC-206 button is selected, it feedbacks to the MVP-7500 button.

Appreciate the assistance.

Regards
Joe

Comments

• Options
    Joe,

The MLC is really designed as a turnkey solution of its own and as I understand it, not meant to interface with others as such. I don't quite see how it fits in if you already have an AMX control system...

I have used many of the bigger flavour units and understand them quite well, but never had the need to apply AMX integration to them, so I offer my thoughts based on my knowledge of both platforms.

I must say I would be a bit concerned about the overall behavior you can achieve with this setup - assuming I fully understand your design and anticipated control scenario....

~~~~~~~

The MLC system is designed to have strings embedded in it for controlling a display, but I don't believe there is any way for you to send strings back to it to control its sources.

It IS a bi-directional port - as there is definately dialog between the display and controller when a file is installed - it does work out cool down cycles etc. but you will have no way of modifying what the MLC actualy does when it receives a command.

An idea for partial integration.