Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads AMX Hardware

Need a extra RS-232 port looking for options

I have a NI-2000 as the master, ran out of RS-232 ports the only options I see is getting a NXF-mini and NXC-com2 cardframe and card. Or possibly using Axlink to a AXB-EM232.

Is there any other box that can give me the extra RS-232 port?

Thanks

brian

Comments

• Spire_JeffSpire_Jeff Posts: 1,917
    The only other options that come to mind are adding another processor (NI-700) or using an RS232 to Ethernet adapter. Using the ethernet adapter may cause you additional programming or other issues.

Hope this helps,
    Jeff
  • DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    I would buy an Axcent3 on Ebay, and slave it. That will give you 6 more serial ports, 8 IR, etc. It's not a bad way to expand a system at all.
  • I've actually been looking at these guys www.globalcache.com, aparently there is a Netlinx module to control their pieces, so it's a cheap way to get extra IR and serial ports.
  • DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    alexanbo wrote:
    I've actually been looking at these guys www.globalcache.com, aparently there is a Netlinx module to control their pieces, so it's a cheap way to get extra IR and serial ports.
    I was looking at those myself, not long ago. If it must be new equipment and an RS323 box is out-of-budget, that might be the way to go; if they are cheaper than an RS232 box, that is.
  • If you don't need two way RS232 you can always use an IR port with the new firmware and do one way RS232 communication.
  • A great solution !
    JustinC wrote:
    If you don't need two way RS232 you can always use an IR port with the new firmware and do one way RS232 communication.

I have done this several times with success.

This works great when you dont need true feedback from a device.
  • KouyaKouya Posts: 60
    Need a extra RS-232 port looking for options

Thanks Guys