Home AMX User Forum AMX Design Tools

Designer learning Touch Panel Design?

We have recently hired a new Graphic Designer. She does all of the graphic design for US Coast Guard Headquarters, which means she does a lot of logos and print stuff. Her background is all print, but she does have the skills to do digital stuff as well.

We'd like for her to start designing our touchpanels, so that I no longer have to. I'm an engineer, and I believe rule #1 for touchpanel design is "Don't let the Engineer design it."

Are there any good resources y'all know of for learning touchpanel design? I'm not entirely sure she's ever even used a touchpanel, so this would need to be rudimentary. Classes, books, websites, anything you've run across with specific guidelines for graphic designers would be helpful.

Thanks,

J

Comments

• DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    I found the TPD4 online class to be helpful, and last I looked there was a recording of it available still. That will help her nail down the basics. After that, I would have her go through some existing panel designs and take them apart, modify them, and basically play with how she can make them better.
  • Spire_JeffSpire_Jeff Posts: 1,917
    I agree with Dave. The online course should introduce her to the basics of TPD4 and I think they even have a document that covers some basic considerations to touchpanel design. After she learns the basics, have her take one of your existing panel designs and change the graphics. This will introduce her to your particular implementation methods and techniques. There are plenty of ways to skin a cat, and it would probably be most helpful to you if she learned how you skin a cat first :)

Jeff
  • JeffJeff Posts: 374