Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

Ethernet problems

I am currently trying to hookup an NXT-CV10 to an NI-3000 via a crossover ethernet cable. In the touchpanel, I have set the DHCP/Static field to Static and assigned it a static IP. The Master Connection is set to Ethernet and the Mode is URL, and I have set the Master IP to the IP address I got from the NetLinx Diagnostics program. The panel IP is 10.176.14.199 and the master is 10.176.14.202.

I have verified that the cable is in fact a crossover; I was able to successfully access the master from my PC using the same cable. However, when I plug in the cable, I never see any LEDs blink, and I can never get the touch panel to appear as a device in NetLinx Studio or the Diagnostics program ( I am simultaneously connected to the master via RS-232 to my PC ).

Is there something basic I'm missing here? I am still new to this, so I want to make sure I'm passing any kind of "idiot test" you guys might know of. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Comments

• Joe HebertJoe Hebert Posts: 2,159
    Need a switch

You?re settings sound fine. However, I?ve never wired it the way you explained and if I understand you correctly, I don?t think it will work.

The standard route to take is to plug in your NI master and your touch panel into a switch that is on the same network as your PC. I think you can pick up an 8 port Linksys switch for under $75.
  • Rod NRod N Posts: 28
    Put in a hub..get rid of the crossover. For the small cost of the hub and cables you'll save a lot of grief.
  • Joe HebertJoe Hebert Posts: 2,159
    I?d go with a switch over a hub. There isn?t much cost difference and the performance of your network is worth the extra dollars. Hubs spray data everywhere. Switches have the intelligence to only send data where it needs to go. But if you are in a pinch and have an old hub collecting dust then I?m sure it will suffice.
  • GSLogicGSLogic Posts: 562