Home AMX User Forum Duet/Cafe Duet

Capabilities of Cafe Duet/Java Greater Than Netlinx?

Hi,

I'm new to AMX programming. I've been to Programmer I, but, that's about it. So, I don't have a lot invested in Netlinx. I'm wondering whether it makes more sense to continue learning Netlinx, or, to learn Java straight-away. Is Java the future of AMX programming? One nice thing about Java is the ready availability of programming books and classes at local universities makes it easier to learn on my own than Netlinx would be. Also, I'd like to focus on including other content on AMX panels -- tie-ins to Outlook/ Exchange calendars, and task lists, bringing in Internet content, such as local events, movie times, etc. into our standard GUI and maybe even control over iTunes.

Given that, I guess I have two questions:

1. Would I be better off learning as little Netlinx as possible and moving to Java as quickly as possible?

2. Does Java allow programmers to do things they couldn't otherwise do in Netlinx, or, to do the same things more efficiently? Or, are they equivalent means to the same end?

Thanks.

Comments

• GSLogicGSLogic Posts: 562
    At the moment you can't program a complete Netlinx system in Java and I think it will be sometime before you can. Java will be king someday, but I believe you can't always wait for the next train. Unless you are only going to program modules you'll have to learn both, which is a good thing!
  • dbfreqdbfreq Posts: 9
    Thanks for the response, Gary. Do you feel the addition of Java expands what is possible with an AMX control system?
  • GSLogicGSLogic Posts: 562
    No question about it, Java will open up a new frontier, but I would still learn the Netlinx!
  • joelwjoelw Posts: 175
    dbfreq wrote:
    1. Would I be better off learning as little Netlinx as possible and moving to Java as quickly as possible?