Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion
Options

Controlling Powerpoint

I've got a conference room that is getting a touch panel on the table, not just off to the side with the computer. As such, I'd like to integrate powerpoint control from the table. All I really need is next slide/previous slide/black screen control. I'm already putting a wireless keyboard/mouse in there, but if they just want to control powerpoint, I don't want them to have to use that.

I've never done this before. I've got two rooms in the building that currently have this capability. One of them has a projector in the room that has a serial cable running from the projector to the computer. The projector remote has mouse commands on it, those commands were captured, and the computer commands are sent to the projector from AMX and then sent to the computer via 232.

The other room has an IR keyboard receiver in it. I don't know where the IR Keyboard itself is, or if you can purchase just the receiver. Apparently the installer of this room captured the commands for next slide/previous/etc from the keyboard, loaded them into IREdit, and stuck an IR emitter to the IR Receiver.

So I've seen two ways to accomplish this. My real question is, are either of these a particularly good way to accomplish this. If the projector can send mouse commands via serial, can the AMX do it as well? The projector in this new room doesn't have that capability (or if it does, it still seems cumbersome and not all that reliable), and I'd like to avoid purchasing an IR Keyboard Receiver.

Any suggestions about ways you've integrated powerpoint control to panels that you're happy with would be appreciated.

J

Comments

• Options
    Look on the AMX web site for i!-PCLink/PowerPoint. I used it once several years ago.
  • Options
    JeffJeff Posts: 374
    I'm looking at that now, but I must admit $310 to control powerpoint seems a bit excessive . . . .

J
  • Options
    Chip MoodyChip Moody Posts: 727