Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

Data.text or Buffer Problems

I am writing some code for a Media Server and am controling over IP. I am sending a request for a status update from the server every 3 seconds and I am capturing this into a buffer. My problem is that I have written the contents of this buffer out to Send_String 0 so I can check that this code is working. (I'm new to this so I am just trying to check every stage at this point). What I see in the telnet session however is an new string every 3 seconds but not the entire string. It is always missing the string.

The buffer is declared as a size of 1000 but the string is only coming through at about 120 charactors.

Any ideas what can be causing this?

Comments

• DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    DATA.TEXT is not entirely reliable in some cases (mainly with physical devices), because it uses some internal timing parameters (which are not documented) to determine when the whole string has arrived. If there is any delay in sending it, the STRING event is triggered as complete, even when it's not.

Use CREATE_BUFFER in DEFINE_START, and test the buffer then for length or a delimiter in DEFINE_PROGRAM.
  • sridleysridley Posts: 21
    I have used Create_Buffer (cBuffer) in define start but I have a String Event for the device with cBuffer = "Data.Text".

If I send send_String 0, Data.Text then I see the whole string in the telnet session?
  • sridley wrote:
    I have used Create_Buffer (cBuffer) in define start but I have a String Event for the device with cBuffer = "Data.Text".
    CREATE_BUFFER adds any incoming data of a device in cBuffer automatically (with some firmware internal advantages).
    An operation like cBuffer = DATA.TEXT will overwrite cBuffer.
    So depending on which instruction is operated first, you may loose your previous data, or you may get the new incoming data doubled in cBuffer.
    To add new stuff manually, you may do it like sMyBuffer = "sMyBuffer,NewData".