Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion
Options

Best way to handle Master Panel in large installation

OK, So this is almost purely a theoretical exercise. I've been programming for right at a year, and I've only been certified since April, so I dont have a ton of experience here. I'm the only programmer where I work, so I dont really have anyone to bounce questions off of or learn from, so I'm entirely self taught. I've caught myself doing things the long way more than once, and I thought I check to see if perhaps I've done that again.

I have 29 conference rooms with AMX Systems in them, spread between two buildings. System 1 is my master system. Systems 2-13 are in the main building I'm in, and systems 51-67 are in the second building. I'm continually adding new systems. Since the second building is several blocks away, I decided to attempt to have everything in the building controllable from a main panel. I don't have the budget for RMS anyway, so I figured I'd program my own stripped down version of it that only tracks what I care about anyway.

I've created a Master Panel that has pages on it for all of the other systems. All of the buttons and variable text addresses for System 2 are on port two of this master panel. All of the buttons and variable text address for System 58 are on port 58 of this master panel. The local systems have dvMasterTP defined as 10001:system_number:1.