Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

PLK-DMS

I've never worked with these before and had to update an old system that wasn't created by me.

The system was running some very old Panja controllers with a PLB-AS8 Audio Switch from Landmark. The house has 5 PLK-DMS keypads, they are all connected to each other.
Basically 1 cable went out of the controller to the PLB-AS8 and from here to the 1st Keypad, from the 1st to the 2nd and so on.
All till a RF device that works under ICSnet aswell, wich has a conector on the end, to finalize the network

Problem is that it doens't have any ICSnet HUB.

As I've read on some topics, everyone uses HUB's to connect the Keypads, altho this system wasn't connected that way.

I've installed a new NI3100 using the same concept as it was before, and I'm constantly having problems.
A lot of connection losses. And then they simply stop working. After some time (30min or 1h) they restart working, till they loose connection again.

Is the HUB totally necessary or is there another reason for this to happen?

Comments

• glr-ftiglr-fti Posts: 286
    The old Landmark system has 2 buses, a Phastlink and a PhastHub. The Phastlink should be connected to ICSNET. Phasthub should be connected to ICSHub. There was also a frame called a Hub or a Hub2. This was used to add things like a mic hub or a video switcher. The DMS keypads would be connected to this mic hub via Phastlink and this mic hub allowed for intercom. The Hub was connected to the CF10 cardframe via the PhastHub. The DMS keypads are not connected to ICShub. They should be connected to ICSNet. Why this installer chose to daisy chain I certainly do not know. While the system supported daisy chaining up to 10 devices, I think it was, it was not a recommended practice. You indicate a connector at the end of the line. I assume that this is the standards Landmark terminator, which again is highly recommended.