Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

New compiler features

I am a programmer from the business world. I am used to writing C and C++ code. There are a features to the NetLinx compiler/interpreter that I think are lacking.

There are features that I am sure everyone would like to see.

I would like to see:

1) the ability to pass more complex objects into a DEFINE_FUNCTION. I understand that if it is passed in by value that could be a big issue, but by reference it would not be. When can we expect the ability to use structures with functions ?

2) the ability to RETURN from a function within a WAIT_UNTIL or WAIT

3) Some kind of serialization technique for a resource or lock

I would like this thread to start a dialog of other features that everyone would like to see.

Is the NetLinx compiler being developed further or is everything, on a go-forward basis, relying on Duet ?

Comments

• SensivaSensiva Posts: 211
    There is a Sticky Thread

you may post your suggestion Here

I'd like returning returning function within waits and wait_until too... but it seems this is the nature of Netlinx Algorithm execution.

Thanks
  • jprovanjprovan Posts: 16
    Thanks. I will read what others are asking for. That actually was the intent of starting this thread. I just didn't know that someone had already started one.

Thanks again.
  • Joe HebertJoe Hebert Posts: 2,159
    jprovan wrote:
    1) the ability to pass more complex objects into a DEFINE_FUNCTION. I understand that if it is passed in by value that could be a big issue, but by reference it would not be. When can we expect the ability to use structures with functions ?