Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

Basic Idea about AMX Home Automation System

Hi Guys,

I am new to AMX HA System. I have studied so far Clipsal C-bus, Dynalite and Control 4 system. It was easy to understand from their product documentation but I didnt understood AMX from its products documentation. I will appreciate if any AMX expert give some time to answer my following question or suggest some direction to understand AMX System.

1. On which protocol AMX system is based on?

2. Does AMX has only one protocol or it supports multiple protocols based on which a NetLinx central processor communicate with other part of HA System?

3. Does NetLinx controller directly talk to individual driver or actuator or NetLinx controller talk to another system setup for a specific HA Job? For example, does NetLinx Controller directly talk to Dynalite Light Switch or Load Driver or Dynalite Lighting Automation has its own central processor and NetLinx talk to that Dynalite Central Processor to control Lights and other functions under that networks? And same thing applicable to other part of HA System too.

4. What I am trying to understand is, does NetLinx controller directly controls the loads or it controls the other HA System implemented for specific task and NetLinx does a job of synchronization between those systems?

5. On which protocol a wireless hand held LCD Display communicate with NetLinx Controller, 802.11b or anyother?

I have many more questions but I think some of them are inter-related with these and might be answers of these questions resolve them directly or indirectly. But this will give me and many like me an idea how AMX system basically works.

Thanks for taking time and reading this post.

Regards,

MC78

Comments

• travtrav Posts: 188
    AMX.. What is it ???
    Hi Guys,

Hi !