Home AMX User Forum AMX Control Products

Metreau KPs Device ID

I got around to hooking up 3 Metreau KPs for testing but mainly to find out their Device ID since they aren't listed in the Device ID table found in AMX PI. I set up a 3 gang plate witht the MET-6N, MET-7 & MET-13 since I had them all in stock to show customers.

I set up the dip switches for 128, 129 & 130 respectively. When looking online tree in NS2 kKP 129 (MET-7) would constantly drop offline and then back on. I added the code to discover their Device ID in Define Start and in the Online Event for UIs just for good measure with send strings for diagnostics. Uploaded the program and in diagnostics I received Device ID # 169 for the MET-6N & MET-7 and Device ID # 171 for the MET-13. I immediately thought the MET-7 should be #170 but maybe not.

The MET-7 (device 129) is still falling offline and then coming back online again like clock work about every 25 seconds so I started playing with the jack. BTW all keypads flash green in sync at regular intervals. Any way I swap the jack from the MET-6N to the MET-7 and the MET-7 jack to the MET-13 and the MET-7 is now working fine but so is the MET-13 and now the MET-7 shows up w/ Device ID #170 which is what I expected in the first place. I put the jacks back in original order the the MET-7 goes back to Device ID #169 and again falls offline every 25 seconds or so. Swap jacks around to a different order and again the MET-7 shows up as with a Device ID of 170 but the other KPs work fine with the jack that was on the MET-7. Talk about messing with my head, this desn't make any sense.

As soon as these were connected and I notice the MET-7 acting up I uploaded the current firmware to the 3 deivces. Now I can see a connector not working on one keypad but work on another but how the F' does it change it's device ID number. When it works and stays online its #170 bbut when it keeps falling offline its 169 which is the same as the MET-6N.