Home AMX User Forum AMX Control Products

PLK-DMS glitches

Hi All,
I am working on an older system with PLK-DMS keypads. I have an NI-4000 master w/ latest duet firmware, and DMS Keypads with ver 5.0 firmware. I am using the DMS-IMSMod to interface the keypads. The keypads are wired home run to an ICSNet Hub, which is connected to the NI-4000, and each keypad has a terminator. Whenever I push a button on the keypads, I get 2 push events, but no release. I created a small test program to verifiy this action:
DEFINE_DEVICE

dvDMS = 6003:1:0

vdvDMS = 33001:1:0

DEFINE_VARIABLE

char VTEXT1[5][40] 

integer nPushCount=0
integer nReleaseCount=0

DEFINE_MODULE 'DMS-IMSMod' MDDMS1(vdvDMS,dvDMS,Test.kpd,VTEXT1)

DEFINE_EVENT

button_event[vdvDMS,200]
{
push:
    {
    nPushCount=nPushCount+1
    send_string 0,"'button 200 pushed'"
    send_string 0,"'nPushCount= ',itoa(nPushCount)"
    }
release:
    {
    nReleaseCount=nReleaseCount+1
    send_string 0,"'button 200 released'"
    send_string 0,"'nReleaseCount= ',itoa(nReleaseCount)"
    }
}

When I push a button, nPushCount increments, but nReleaseCount does not. Any ideas? I have also tried this with an NI-700 and a different DMS keypad, both with a terminator and without,but I got the same results.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Joe HebertJoe Hebert Posts: 2,159
    m_hodel wrote: »
    Whenever I push a button on the keypads, I get 2 push events, but no release.
    Are you physically pushing the buttons or are you doing a DO_PUSH()? I?ve seen DO_PUSH() generate double pushes before (which is one reason I avoid them at all costs unless I?m absolutely forced into it) but I don?t know about the release missing as I rarely use them.

If you are physically pushing the buttons then I?m not sure what would cause the double push and no release. Since the PLK-DMS is pre duet I would try the test on a non duet master if you have one available and see if the problem persists. Maybe others have better ideas.