Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

about c_bus feedback message

I use the RS232 method not Ethernet.
I want to get c_bus?s feedback ,but I have not got feedback message like ?'K:P:[32:38:04]'?,I want to know which command was sent could get this feedback message, and i use the Channel Feedback,and also no use.
channel_event[vLight, 18]
{
on: on [dvTP, channel.channel]
off: off [dvTP, channel.channel]
}
this also no use
DEFINE_PROGRAM

[dvTP, 21] = [vLight,$A9] // group address A9 on local network, app 38
[dvTP, 22] = [vLight,$AA] // group address AA on local network,
can anyone help me?thanks!

Comments

  • xrmichaelxrmichael Posts: 79
    CBus

    From memory you cannot stop the feed back so it should work, are you getting any control of the cbus ?
  • xrmichael wrote: »
    From memory you cannot stop the feed back so it should work, are you getting any control of the cbus ?

    should i buy some devices about feedback? if i don't buy it ,it will not feedback? or should i setting the cbus about feedback someing? i don't know it.
  • wgqkakawgqkaka Posts: 16
    Cbus feedback

    Yes, i can control cbus via AMx. Thing is i would like to get feedback on the amx system. IE, say someone used a cbus keypad at basement to turn off the light, i'd like the amx panel to display that also. Now i could only send command to the clipsal to control them, but whenever someone else use the clipsal system via anything other than the AMX panel, i would not see the real status of the system from amx panel.
    For example, i send "'STATUS:38'", it will return "C-BUS ERROR=FAILED RETRANSMISSION", or if i send "'VERSION?'" it will return "'C-BUS ERROR=FAILED RETRANSMISSION" also and so on.
    If we send on/off etc command, it works fine.

    Anyhelp greatly appreciated esp xrmichael

    Regards
  • filpeefilpee Posts: 64
    VERSION? is a command to the module and not the cbus system

    Here is a copy of the notifications after sending VERSION? then STATUS:38 then turning off/on some lights from a cbus switch.
    Line      1 (08:37:24):: Command To [33007:1:1]-[VERSION?]
    Line      2 (08:37:24):: Command From [33007:1:1]-[VERSION?]
    Line      3 (08:37:24):: String To [33007:1:1]-[VERSION=CBusModIII v3.23, Aug 2006]
    Line      4 (08:37:24):: String From [33007:1:1]-[VERSION=CBusModIII v3.23, Aug 2006]
    Line      5 (08:38:50):: Command To [33007:1:1]-[STATUS:38]
    Line      6 (08:38:50):: Command From [33007:1:1]-[STATUS:38]
    Line      7 (08:39:24):: String To [33007:1:1]-[K:L:[00:3A:01]:0]
    Line      8 (08:39:24):: String From [33007:1:1]-[K:L:[00:3A:01]:0]
    Line      9 (08:39:26):: String To [33007:1:1]-[K:L:[00:3A:01]:100]
    Line     10 (08:39:26):: String From [33007:1:1]-[K:L:[00:3A:01]:100]
    

    Just realized that my application here is on 3A. Tried sending STATUS:3A this time and got a whole lot of responses from Cbus as to the current state of all the group addresses on the network.

    I have posted my initializations recently so have a look at that as to how my system is setup to handle input from the module.

    Make sure your virtual device is set for 3300x (mine here is using 33007) and that you are sending COMMANDS and not strings to the device.

    Note that the module returns STRINGS not commands. Any commands from the module are just echos of commands that you have sent it.

    And read the doc file that comes with the module. It is very detailed and contains all the info you need to set it up.

    I have used this module on many many sites without any issues so I'm unsure why your having problems with it. Only thing I can think of is that you have something basic in your setup incorrect.

    some example send strings
    [code]
    button_event[dvTP_CBUS,cbusFrontLights]
    {
    push:
    {
    send_command vdvCbus,"'K:P:[00:3A:02]:T'";
    }
    }
    button_event[dvTP_CBUS,cbusRearLights]
    {
    push:
    {
    send_command vdvCbus,"'K:P:[00:3A:01]:T'";
    }
    }
    [\code]
  • i think the setting like vitural device that is ok.because i can use the module to control the light on/off,that not problem ,but just i want get the feedback ,it give that not useful message.
    DEFINE_PROGRAM

    [dvTP, 21] = [vLight,$A9] // group address A9 on local network, app 38
    [dvTP, 22] = [vLight,$AA] // group address AA on local network, app 38
    [dvTP, 23] = [vLight,$AB] // group address AB on local network, app 38
    [dvTP, 24] = [vLight,$AC] // group address AC on local network, app 38

    the code above ,i think it's should work,but it not.i think whether should i not setting on the cbus something???
  • filpeefilpee Posts: 64
    There is nothing from within Cbus itself you can set that will effect the AMX system.

    So long as you have a key input with a Group Address programmed to an output unit (dimmer/relay etc) with the same Group Address you should be fine.

    You could try re-sending the INITIALISE command as this should correctly setup the cbus interface for AMX two way communication.
  • filpee wrote: »
    There is nothing from within Cbus itself you can set that will effect the AMX system.

    So long as you have a key input with a Group Address programmed to an output unit (dimmer/relay etc) with the same Group Address you should be fine.

    You could try re-sending the INITIALISE command as this should correctly setup the cbus interface for AMX two way communication.

    what means that the input and output with the same Group Address ?can you give me example ?
    and should i send command 'INITIALISE' that will C-Bus communications to be reset?and you said that your application is 3A,i don't know how get the AP, whether is my AP 38,i really don't know ,can you tell me how can i know my AP is what ??thanks
  • filpeefilpee Posts: 64
    Group Address is a Cbus term which you should be familiar with if you are programming the cbus side of things.

    As an example you should have a group address (GA for short) in the cbus switch (key input) called "Front Lights" or something similar.

    You should then have this same GA in an relay (output unit) channel.

    As for the Application Address in cbus the default Application is 56 (decimal) which is 38 in hex.

    The site I'm working on is large so it has multiple Applications. On this particular network I'm using 3A hex.

    You can confirm Group Addresses and Application Addresses from within the Cbus programming software.


    AMX will send INITIALISE on bootup. Maybe this is happening too early for some reason. Just try it using the diagnostics tools from within studio.
  • i don't know whether same GA in an relay (output unit) channel,but i can control the light via the module .does it means the GA setting is ok(same GA in an relay (output unit) channel)??
  • filpeefilpee Posts: 64
    i don't know whether same GA in an relay (output unit) channel,but i can control the light via the module .does it means the GA setting is ok(same GA in an relay (output unit) channel)??

    Yes. sounds like the GA setting is fine.
  • data_event[vLight]
    {
    string:
    {
    if (data.text == ?K:P:[32:38:04]?)
    {
    8888888 }
    if (data.text == ?K:R:[32:38:04]?)
    {
    8888 }
    }
    }
    this code i write it ,but data.text never will appear the thing that i want to know ,has any should i note ?thanks
  • filpeefilpee Posts: 64
    data_event[vLight]
    if (data.text == ?K:P:[32:38:04]?)

    I would use "K:P:[00:38:04]" unless your trying to talk/listen to cbus on a remote network address.


    Other then that it looks fine. What does studio show when you turn on diagnostics?
  • wgqkakawgqkaka Posts: 16
    filpee wrote: »
    I would use unless your trying to talk/listen to cbus on a remote network address.


    Other then that it looks fine. What does studio show when you turn on diagnostics?

    how can i get feedback message like "K:P:[00:38:04]" ? thanks
  • sorry,i'm not at my workspace ,so i can't debug the programme .can you give me your MSN number?i will try that the INITIALISE and if have problem i will ask for your help tomorrow or other your leisure time .but always thanks for help and reply .
  • Here is a copy of the notifications
    Line      1 (14:24:33):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line      2 (14:24:43):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line      3 (14:24:53):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line      4 (14:24:58):: Command To [33001:1:1]-[VERSION?]
    Line      5 (14:24:59):: Command From [33001:1:1]-[VERSION?]
    Line      6 (14:24:59):: String To [33001:1:1]-[VERSION=CBusModIII v3.23, Aug 2006]
    Line      7 (14:24:59):: String From [33001:1:1]-[VERSION=CBusModIII v3.23, Aug 2006]
    Line      8 (14:25:04):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line      9 (14:25:13):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     10 (14:25:22):: Command To [33001:1:1]-[STATUS:38]
    Line     11 (14:25:22):: Command From [33001:1:1]-[STATUS:38]
    Line     12 (14:25:23):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     13 (14:25:33):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     14 (14:25:43):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     15 (14:25:53):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     16 (14:25:58):: Command To [33001:1:1]-[MONITOR:ON]
    Line     17 (14:25:58):: Command From [33001:1:1]-[MONITOR:ON]
    Line     18 (14:25:58):: String To [33001:1:1]-[MONITOR:0N]
    Line     19 (14:25:58):: String From [33001:1:1]-[MONITOR:0N]
    Line     20 (14:26:03):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     21 (14:26:06):: String To [5002:7:2]-[~$0D]
    Line     22 (14:26:06):: String To [5002:7:2]-[~$0D]
    Line     23 (14:26:07):: String To [33001:1:1]-[C-BUS ERROR=SERIOUS COMMS FAULT]
    Line     24 (14:26:07):: String To [5002:7:2]-[~$0D]
    Line     25 (14:26:07):: String From [33001:1:1]-[C-BUS ERROR=SERIOUS COMMS FAULT]
    Line     26 (14:26:07):: String To [5002:7:2]-[~$0D]
    Line     27 (14:26:07):: String To [33001:1:1]-[C-BUS ERROR=FAILED RETRANSMISSION]
    Line     28 (14:26:07):: String From [33001:1:1]-[C-BUS ERROR=FAILED RETRANSMISSION]
    Line     29 (14:26:13):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     30 (14:26:23):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     31 (14:26:33):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     32 (14:26:43):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     33 (14:26:53):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     34 (14:27:03):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     35 (14:27:13):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     36 (14:27:23):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     37 (14:27:33):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     38 (14:27:43):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     39 (14:27:53):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     40 (14:28:03):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     41 (14:28:12):: Command To [33001:1:1]-[MMI:[00:38:7E]:ON]
    Line     42 (14:28:12):: Command From [33001:1:1]-[MMI:[00:38:7E]:ON]
    Line     43 (14:28:15):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     44 (14:28:24):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     45 (14:28:35):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     46 (14:28:43):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     47 (14:28:53):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     48 (14:29:03):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     49 (14:29:13):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     50 (14:29:23):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     51 (14:29:24):: Command To [33001:1:1]-[INITIALISE]
    Line     52 (14:29:24):: Command From [33001:1:1]-[INITIALISE]
    Line     53 (14:29:34):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     54 (14:29:34):: String To [5002:7:2]-[~$0D]
    Line     55 (14:29:34):: String To [5002:7:2]-[~$0D]
    Line     56 (14:29:34):: String To [33001:1:1]-[C-BUS ERROR=SERIOUS COMMS FAULT]
    Line     57 (14:29:34):: String To [5002:7:2]-[~$0D]
    Line     58 (14:29:34):: String From [33001:1:1]-[C-BUS ERROR=SERIOUS COMMS FAULT]
    Line     59 (14:29:38):: String To [5002:7:2]-[~$0D]
    Line     60 (14:29:38):: String To [33001:1:1]-[C-BUS ERROR=FAILED RETRANSMISSION]
    Line     61 (14:29:38):: String From [33001:1:1]-[C-BUS ERROR=FAILED RETRANSMISSION]
    Line     62 (14:29:43):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     63 (14:29:53):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     64 (14:30:03):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     65 (14:30:13):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    
    Line     83 (14:33:13):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     84 (14:33:18):: Command To [33001:1:1]-[K:P:[00:38:7E]]
    Line     85 (14:33:18):: Command From [33001:1:1]-[K:P:[00:38:7E]]
    Line     86 (14:33:18):: String To [5002:7:2]-[\03$00$0009$80$E932$01$0000x$0D]
    Line     87 (14:33:18):: String To [5002:7:2]-[\03$00$0009$80$E932$01$0000x$0D]
    Line     88 (14:33:18):: String To [5002:7:2]-[\03$00$0009$80$E932$01$0000x$0D]
    Line     89 (14:33:18):: String To [5002:7:2]-[\03$00$0009$80$E932$01$0000x$0D]
    Line     90 (14:33:20):: String To [33001:1:1]-[C-BUS ERROR=FAILED RETRANSMISSION]
    Line     91 (14:33:20):: String From [33001:1:1]-[C-BUS ERROR=FAILED RETRANSMISSION]
    Line     92 (14:33:23):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line     93 (14:33:33):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    
  • should i buy some software from cbus ,because the joint is secret??
  • filpeefilpee Posts: 64
    So your virtual cbus module is on 33001:1:1
    Which port is your cbus actually connected to? is it 5002:7:2?

    What cable are you using?

    [size=+1]DO NOT USE COMMERCIALLY MADE MOULDED D9 CABLES WITH THE NI SERIES CONTROLLER.

    DO NOT CONNECT PINS OTHER THAN THOSE SHOWN IN THE MODULE DOCUMENT!!!
    [/size]
  • AMX have v4.06 of the Cbus module, but it isn't on the website. For some reason you have to call them and ask for it. It has a completely different command set so it conforms with the API. Only use RS232 cables with pins 2,3 & 5 connected. If you try and control a Group Address that doesn't exist on the C-bus network you will get either [C-BUS ERROR=FAILED RETRANSMISSION] or [C-BUS ERROR=LATENCY ERROR] messages.
  • PhreaKPhreaK Posts: 966
    AMX have v4.06 of the Cbus module, but it isn't on the website.
    Any chance you could swing a copy of said module this way?

    Cheers.
  • filpee wrote: »
    So your virtual cbus module is on 33001:1:1
    Which port is your cbus actually connected to? is it 5002:7:2?

    What cable are you using?

    [size=+1]DO NOT USE COMMERCIALLY MADE MOULDED D9 CABLES WITH THE NI SERIES CONTROLLER.

    DO NOT CONNECT PINS OTHER THAN THOSE SHOWN IN THE MODULE DOCUMENT!!!
    [/size]

    now i use the virtual cbus module is on 33001:1:2 . the cbus actually connected to 5002:7:2.
    and this is my code:
    DEFINE_DEVICE
    dvTP     = 10001:1:1      // Touchpanel
    Light    = 5002:7:2        // C-Bus rsr323 Port
    vLight   = 33001:1:2   // virtual dev: C-Bus
    
    vtp2    =33002:1:2    //virtual tp
    
    define_combine
    (vtp2,dvTP)
    
    DEFINE_VARIABLE
    char C_BUS_RETURN[100]
    char 		IPaddr[15] 	= '0.0.0.0'    			// null IP address for RS232 mode
    //  char    IPaddr[15] 	= '10.176.148.90'		// IP address of C-Bus Network Interface
    	integer IPport  		= 14000           	// C-Bus IP port
    
    
    DEFINE_START
    DEFINE_MODULE 'CBusModIII' CB1( Light, vLight, IPaddr, IPport )
    
    DEFINE_EVENT
    data_event[vtp2] // Update when touchpanel comes online
    {
      online: 
    	{
    		send_command vLight, 'STATUS:38'	
    	}
    }
    
    data_event[vLight]
    {
      string:
      {
        C_BUS_RETURN=DATA.TEXT
        // keypad at address 04 network 32 pressed?
        if (data.text =='K:P:[00:38:7E]')
        {
          ON[vtp2,1324]
        }
        if (data.text =='K:R:[00:38:7E]')
        {
          OFF[vtp2,1324]
        }
      }
    }
    
    
    
    
    channel_event [VLight,$7E] // Mimic C-Bus channels as AMX channels
    {
      on :  on [vtp2,1324]
      off:  off[vtp2,1324]	
    }
    
    
    button_event[vLight,$7E] 
    {
      push: // Push on local network, group address 2F, application 38 hex
      {
        ON[vtp2,1324]
      }
      release:
      {
        OFF[vtp2,1324]
      }
    }
    
    (***********************************************************)
    (*            THE ACTUAL PROGRAM GOES BELOW                *)
    (***********************************************************)
    DEFINE_PROGRAM
    [vtp2,1324] = [vLight,$7E]
    

    and i have another problem why always appear this message.33015 i have not define it .why always appear it.


    'Line 12 (14:25:23):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line 13 (14:25:33):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line 14 (14:25:43):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]
    Line 15 (14:25:53):: Command From [33015:1:1]-[REQUEST_REMOTE_UI_MODE?]'


    and i have not see the message like 'string from [5002:1:2]*******',so i think we have not get the cbus(5002:1:2) feedback.

    i will check the cable later,too.i hope the wiring interconnection is right .
  • wgqkakawgqkaka Posts: 16
    network

    i have a c-bus ,but i don't know its network number ,how can i get its network number and set it again,thank you!
  • thanks all the guys,esp,filpee,the probelm has been solved,i got the wrong cable .thanks a lot .
  • filpeefilpee Posts: 64
    wgqkaka wrote: »
    i have a c-bus ,but i don't know its network number ,how can i get its network number and set it again,thank you!

    If the cbus interface is on the same network as the relays/dimmers then just use network [00:38:7E] (the 00 in this example).

    Otherwise ask the cbus installer for the details.
  • filpeefilpee Posts: 64
    thanks all the guys,esp,filpee,the probelm has been solved,i got the wrong cable .thanks a lot .

    Ah thats fantastic news yanghua. Hope the rest of the job goes much smoother for you from here on in :-)
  • wgqkakawgqkaka Posts: 16
    filpee wrote: »
    If the cbus interface is on the same network as the relays/dimmers then just use network [00:38:7E] (the 00 in this example).

    Otherwise ask the cbus installer for the details.
    i see,thanks for your help.thank you very much!
Sign In or Register to comment.