Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion
Options

Can I re-flash a compact flash card?

I think I need to get the standard 64MB compact flash card replaced in my NXT-CV7. However, it may be several weeks before I am able to get it ordered. I have a CF reader - can I load the firmware onto the CF myself, or is there a specific upload/decompression process that I cannot do?

Comments

• Options
    ryanwwryanww Posts: 196
    The only way you will be able to re-flash that card is to get an image from a working panel's CF card. I would give you one if I had one myself.. But Mayb you have access to another one of these you can copy the CF from or maybe someone else on here can get you a copy..

Ryan
  • Options
    DiogoDiogo Posts: 65
    I guess you can, but will not that easy, because there is some linux partitions that you will need make the copy also. I'm not a linux expert, so I can't help that much. But there is some threads in the forum that say how you could do this step by step, I've seen a time ago, can't remember the title.

It would be easier if you get a central controller corrupted, It just use one FAT32 Partition, if I not wrong.
    I not completely sure. Maybe if you dig the forum you can find the NXT-CV7 images, or someone give to you.
  • Options
    DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    You don't have to deal with any formatting or system files if you use a binary image of a working CF. A program like WinHex makes it trivial; of course, if you have a Linux boot you can do with without any additional software. Search the forums for "compact flash" or "image" and you will see we have discussd this many times.
  • Options
    ryanwwryanww Posts: 196
    Use that program if you are PC based.. If you have a mac or have linux, its very easy to do a simple terminal command that will turn it to an image and then another to take the image and put it back on a card..