Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Modules & Duet Modules

First Module...Newbie

I finished P1 a month or so ago and I finally have a functioning system at home that I can play with. I downloaded the JVC LCD Duet 232 module and loaded it and the TP file on my system. However, since this is my first time using a module, can you folks give me some pointers? I was going to add some channel events for button presses (that's what the module calls for), but I can't seem to get started, other than this:
Channel_Event [dvTP,9]
{
PUSH:
{
PULSE,
}
}
What do I need to add in order to get a button press to send a command via the 232 port?
I have loaded the duet firmware on my ni-700 already.

Comments

• rfletcherrfletcher Posts: 217
    I think you're actually looking for a button event.
    button_event[dvTP,9]
    {
        push:
        {

}
        hold[]:
        {

}
        release:
        {

}
    }

I haven't looked at that specific module, but most duet modules use channels for control. You can either turn a channel on/off, or pulse it.
    on[vdvDevice,1]
    off[vdvDevice,1]
    pulse[vdvDevice,1]

The instruction file that came with the module should tell you what each channel does, and if it's an on/off type control or a pulse type control. Many modules also recognize send_commands and/or send_strings.
    send_command vdvDevice, 'something'
    send_string vdvDevice, 'something'

Both the channel controls, send_commands, and send_strings go in the button_event (or in any other type of event), in the section of the event that corresponds to when you want the command to execute.

Hope that helps.
  • vegastechvegastech Posts: 369
    I figured that it had to be a button event...after all, I AM pressing buttons...it was just odd that the doc that came with the module was talking about channel events and not mentioning button events. I guess there are a few things simply inferred already.
  • rfletcherrfletcher Posts: 217
    vegastech wrote: »