Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads AMX Hardware Matrix Distributed Audio
Options

Too many inputs for amx equipment

Hello all,

I am doing up a large fancy house and the owner wants ipod docks in the bedrooms, each theater room and the bar area. This puts me way over the number of inputs I was hoping for. I wanted to use a tango 8*8 controller but now I can't. I was also thinking of using two of them, and designating a couple of channels on each to be busses to the other system.

I used a Lectrosonics DM series 12*16 matrix on my last job but I needed to hire a programmer to help me as I'm pretty new to this stuff and feeling a little overwhelmed.

Does anyone have a fairly simple solution for 12-14 inputs and 8-10 outputs? It seems I am always struggling with having enough inputs when I am doing this stuff.

Thank you.

Ryan Mandau

Comments

• Options
    viningvining Posts: 4,368
    I would use a AutoPatch Precis 18x18 for in/outs, 2 6 x 2 channel amps (B & K, Niles, Sonance, Speaker Crap) and a Moxa IP/serial server to handle iPod or any other excessive serial needs. This is still going to be overwhelming for a newbie but some times you have to suffer to get to the other side. No pain, no gain kinda thing. You'll need to give up your life for a year or so but eventually you'll learn to get by w/o it. I've personally been lifeless for about 5 years, you get used to it but this economy is helping me get it back.
  • Options
    ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    Hello all,

I am doing up a large fancy house and the owner wants ipod docks in the bedrooms, each theater room and the bar area. This puts me way over the number of inputs I was hoping for. I wanted to use a tango 8*8 controller but now I can't. I was also thinking of using two of them, and designating a couple of channels on each to be busses to the other system.