Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

Help with HEX to integer

I'm relatively new at Netlinx, trying to get up to speed and have a problem where I'm hoping someone might be able to steer me in the right direction. I'm trying to use HEXTOI in a part of a function; I'll exclude the rest for clarity, as this is definitely the part that's broken.

STACK_VAR CHAR cHours[4]; // part of a reply in hex - I need to convert to an integer somehow
STACK_VAR LONG lSeconds; // the variable that I want to load the integer into

lSeconds = HEXTOI(cHours)

In debugger I can see I have a hexidecimal string in my cHours array, but I never seeing anything at all in lSeconds, so I re-read the documentation on HEXTOI, and it does state 'a hexadecimal formatted string'. This is where I believe I've gone wrong, but I'm not sure where to go with it - the example in Netlinx help shows Num = HEXTOI('126EC') // Num = 75500, my problem I'm guessing is that my array holds an actual hex string, as opposed to "an ASCII string containing the hexadecimal representation of a number".

I guess I'm not grasping some essential bit. I played around and just hard-coded a fake reply in place of cHours, formatted in single quotes and that got a result. I cannot figure out how to convert my hex string into ASCII characters- I've beat this to death. Does anybody know a way or method to convert a HEX string in an array into something that HEXTOI can use, or maybe HEXTOI won't work on an array, but that doesn't make sense - I just can't see it, perhaps I'm so fixated on doing this this one way that I'm blind to another method. Anyhow, I'd be greatly obliged if anyone has any ideas.
Thanks,

Comments

• HEXTOI doesn't actually convert hex to integer. Hex is already an integer. You can just pass the hex value to an integer an be done with it.

HEXTOI converts ascii representations of hex to integers.
  • Spire_JeffSpire_Jeff Posts: 1,917