Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Modules & Duet Modules

Learning how to do AMX modules

I'm new to AMX, but have been programming "the other guys" for 5 years. I have a job that is using a Biamp Nexia TC for audioconferencing. I need to learn how to make Netlinx modules, so since I programmed my own SIMPL+ Nexia conferencing module, I figured I would start here.

I an trying to use channels for input and feedback from the module, but I'm having trouble understanding how to send data like the current phone number back out of the module to the main. To add to my frustration, I've randomly downloaded some InConcert AMX modules to see what they did, only to inevitably discover that there isn't source code for the COMM portion. Have I just picked bad examples, or is this common for AMX-supplied modules?

Comments

• CT-DallasCT-Dallas Posts: 157
    Gravity,
    AMX Supplied comm modules will not include source. The UI modules included with most AMX modules are open source, but are really intended to be used as a reference guide for creating your own UI module that works with your project code. Not sure if you are permissions limited because of certification status, but you should search the forums and you will find several examples of open source modules that other posters have contributed to the community.

Good Luck!
  • jjamesjjames Posts: 2,908
    Gravity, first off - welcome to the forums.

Some ways of sending data back and forth is through SEND_STRING and SEND_COMMAND; when I write a module, I used SEND_COMMAND to the virtual for actually commands, such as getting the power status (SEND_COMMAND vdvDevice,'POWER?'), and then within the COMM module, I'd do a SEND_STRING to the virtual for feedback (SEND_STRING vdvDevice, 'POWER=1'). Of course, in the COMM, there is no STRING event for vdvDevice, and in the UI module there is no COMMAND event for the virtual device.