Home AMX User Forum AMX Design Tools

TPD3 Elegant Coding --Any oldies but goodies?

I've been maintaing a Phast Landmark system for 11 years--I know, time to upgrade, but I cannot. So from the project's simple beginning, I've added another controllable TV and zone, DVR, Cable boxes with On Demand--the problem is that my Viewpoint Touchscreens have run out of memory. My choices include deleting pages and making the touchscreeens operate only in one room or zone, or re-program them trying for more elegant (low memory) programming.

Does anyone out there know the most efficient way to free up memory? Put another way, what are the biggest memory hogs? Pages, Pop-ups, colors, fonts, or buttons?

Comments

• John NagyJohn Nagy Posts: 1,734
    Depends entirely on what you are doing.
    You can tell what part is your problem by going to the SYSTEM PAGE, and you'll see the 4 parts of memory (buttons, bitmaps, icons, and fonts) and how much you are using of each. Probably you have run out out BUTTON memory, too many pages and buttons.

Make your code understand that a single command means PLAY (etc) no matter what device you are using, and send the play to the device being used, and you can reduce the number of pages dramatically. No need to have multiple pages identical with individually pointed buttons.

By why can't you upgrade? Even an old NI3000 would be a radical step up with nearly no cost, today.
  • banobano Posts: 173
    majoranne wrote: »
    I've been maintaing a Phast Landmark system for 11 years--I know, time to upgrade, but I cannot. So from the project's simple beginning, I've added another controllable TV and zone, DVR, Cable boxes with On Demand--the problem is that my Viewpoint Touchscreens have run out of memory. My choices include deleting pages and making the touchscreeens operate only in one room or zone, or re-program them trying for more elegant (low memory) programming.