Home AMX User Forum AMX Control Products

"General" Button State Change

I'm new to programming AMX and I'm wrapping my head around the various commands. One area I need a little assistance is in button states. I know that the preferred method to change the button state (say from off to on) is to make it a multi-state general and then assign it a state through the ^ANI command. I have that up and running.

I'm just curious though, is there a command to do the same with just a general on/off and not a multi-state button?

I was originally trying to figure out how to do it that way and came across the multi-state version which works fine. I'm just wondering, that's all.

Comments

• viningvining Posts: 4,368
    jabramson wrote: »
    I'm new to programming AMX and I'm wrapping my head around the various commands. One area I need a little assistance is in button states. I know that the preferred method to change the button state (say from off to on) is to make it a multi-state general and then assign it a state through the ^ANI command. I have that up and running.

I'm just curious though, is there a command to do the same with just a general on/off and not a multi-state button?

I was originally trying to figure out how to do it that way and came across the multi-state version which works fine. I'm just wondering, that's all.
    I don't know where you came up with ^ANI as the preferred method, I would say that's the least preferred.

For general channels set to channel for feedback, feedback or button state control typically occurs in an event and has:
    ON[dvTP,SomeBtnChannel] ;
    or
    OFF[dvTP,SomeBtnChannel] ;
    or
    [dvTP,SomeBtnChannel] = nVarState ; 
    or
    [dvTP,SomeBtnChannel] = (nVarState == SomeValue) ; 

Then typically in a define_program or timeline you can do or in an event for that matter:
    [dvTP,SomeBtnChannel] = nVarState ; //a zero would make the channel OFF and any non zero would make it ON.