Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Modules & Duet Modules

Using a module within another module

I'm fairly new to the world of NetLinx so this may be a stupid question and/or idea, but here goes...

How do you use/address/initialise a module from inside another module?

Basically, I've written a generic PJLink module for projector control, but now want to use it inside an NEC Projector module. That way I only have to implement the commands that aren't already covered by PJLink (it's all a bit OOP). My issue is how do I address it? Ideally it would use a different port on the virtual device, but that doesn't seem to be possible. If I just pick a device number for the PJLink virtual device, then what's to stop it clashing if you've got multiple instances of the module?

Any guidance/suggestions welcome...

Comments

• rfletcherrfletcher Posts: 217
    Based on the information in netlinx keywords help, declaring modules in other modules looks like its generally a bad idea as all declarations of a given module in a program must not be separated by decelerations of other modules.

This means that if you embed module A in another module B:

1. You must be sure to place any declarations of module B that occur in your main program immediately after the declaration of module A.

2. You can only include a single instance of module A in a given program.

3. You can not embed module B in any other modules you might use at the same time as module A

Hope this is helpful.

-Ryan
  • catalinocatalino Posts: 25
    This is possible- You would simply define it as a module and pass its VDV as a parameter from the main code. That way you are really just passing it twice, but this is the only way to ensure that you don't accidentally invoke the same module call twice. I do this using a queueing communications module that I built.
    So for example you'd have:
    /**** MAIN.axs *****
    vdvDevice1
    vdvDevice1PJLink
    dvDevice