Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads Tips and Tricks

Example source code resources

I'm new to Netlinx programming and wishing I had more sample sources to review. I have all of the AMX documentation, but wish I had more samples to review to understand the application of the various elements of Netlinx.

Today I've been creating a new Function and I find that it partially works. However it doesn't seem to be accepting the second paramater that it passed to it. Real world examples of multi-paramater function would help supplement the AMX docs and on-line help.

Any suggestions on where to look?

Thanks
Rich Abel

Comments

• jeffacojeffaco Posts: 121
    Sourceforge?

Well, there's the NetLinx library that I created up on SourceForge:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/netlinx-modules/

It has bunches of source code up there. Notable examples:

SlimServerMod, a module to drive the SqueezeBox from Slim Devices. See this screen shot.

TimeSyncMod, a module that syncronizes the system time via a variety of SNTP servers. This is the basis for i!-TimeManager (which code was also included in the schedule module AMX wrote).

AudiotronMod, a module that drives the Audiotron from Turtle Beach. This is notable because the Audiotron's API was implemented via HTTP, so AudiotronMod drove the device via HTTP.

SyslogMod, a module that allows logging to a syslog server. All of the modules on SourceForge optionally use this to allow for rich debugging of the code.

RadioRA, a module that drives Lutron's RadioRA controller. It's better than the one AMX provides in two ways: (1) Source code is provided, and (2) It supports multiple RS-232 controllers on multiple home codes (for a virtually unlimited number of switches); AMX only supports one.

All of the above modules use the networking capabilities of NetLinx heavily (except RadioRA - it just uses RS-232).