Home AMX User Forum Duet/Cafe Duet

Build a complete java application to run on an ni master

Ok, so maybe not totally duet, but a utility module (bypassing snapi) and then netlinx that only imports that module, and the rest all done in java.

Anybody done this before here? I know AMX has with a few of their customers.

Im looking for a good example to get started off of, im new to duet, however have a past in java and can handle most any netlinx project, so now I want to bump up and use java, plus the customer requested it for other reasons.

Any and all pro's and con's are accepted.

Comments

• PhreaKPhreaK Posts: 966
    This is definitely possible. Get yourself nice and familiar with OSGi if you haven't already done so - Neil Bartlett's awesome OSGi in Practice is a good start. From there you can roll your own OSGi bundles that perform different bits of your system functionality and they can communicate purely on the Java side via the services registry. This approach will let you maintain system modularity and also keep you compatible with any Duet device device modules so that you're not having to re-invent the wheel or have one set of device comms code you use on java projects and one for your NetLinx / hybrid jobs.
  • PhreaK wrote: »
    This is definitely possible. Get yourself nice and familiar with OSGi if you haven't already done so - Neil Bartlett's awesome OSGi in Practice is a good start. From there you can roll your own OSGi bundles that perform different bits of your system functionality and they can communicate purely on the Java side via the services registry. This approach will let you maintain system modularity and also keep you compatible with any Duet device device modules so that you're not having to re-invent the wheel or have one set of device comms code you use on java projects and one for your NetLinx / hybrid jobs.