Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriveRack 200 Series 200 Series General Discussion

260/GUI glitch?

Tour ManagerTour Manager Posts: 6
Recently I was a visiting engineer in a small local venue with a mediocre full-range system. I opted to use my 260 as a quasi-system drive in that I was only doing 2-in/2-out. This gives me geq, compressors, limiters, hi-pass/low-pass and rta...in one rack space!

My situation is/was patched and ready to tune the system, I hit the pink noise on ch-1, but had no output even though it was metering correctly. So, I tried ch-2, everything was normal. Going back to ch-1, I checked the Input Mixer and regardless what I did, nothing responded, ie: input/output/master levels, pink on/off, etc. I exited the mixer and opened another editor, not sure which? About that time, the pink came blaring at like, 150% of the comparative level of ch-2, so, I instantly muted the outputs. When I verified that all inputs and outputs were in fact where they belonged, I un-muted and both channels were operating normal.

SO, my question is, has anyone experienced similar behavior where certain inputs or outputs were unresponsive intermittently contrary to display? Also, has anyone experienced an instance where the 260 has somehow output a higher signal level than any setting SHOULD allow?

I'm wondering if this was simply a miscommunication between control software and processor or perhaps, a lost connection between GUI & processor ONLY affecting certain functions?

Bizarre...

Royce~

Comments

• MikeyMikey Posts: 82
    Wow! I've not had that happen, but the interface between the computer and the DR is very slow in my opinion. It's even slower when changes are being made through Smaart Live.

I'm guessing it was an interface issue. Strange things have happened to me using the computer to control the DR. It all seems to settle down a few seconds (sometimes more) after the computer sends the signals.