Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriveRack 200 Series 200 Series General Discussion

Phonic PAA3 as RTA mic?

TiminatorTiminator Posts: 2
Hi there,

I'm planning on using a 260i to tri-amp the front channels of my home theater. I'd like to get a Phonic PAA3 to do RT60 measurements and was wondering if this would work as a mic for the DriveRack.

Since I'm not a pro-audio guy, I know almost nothing about phantom power, impedance matching, etc. I'll be driving the DriveRack with my Outlaw Audio model 990 pre/pro with XLR outputs. From there, the DriveRack will feed some Crown XLS amps and a Gaines Audio Model 244 balanced line interface which will in turn feed my Rogue Audio Magnum 120 tube monoblocks. The Rogues and one of the Crowns will feed my Magnepan 2.6r's (minus internal passive XO) while another Crown feeds my twin 10\" subs in individual 70 liter sealed DIY enclosures.

Links to gear mentioned:
Phonic PAA3 Audio Analyzer - http://210.243.85.5/partner/modules/product_explor/products_detail.php?product_id=130
Gaines Audio Balanced Interface Model 244 - http://www.gainesaudio.com/big244.htm
Outlaw Audio Model 990 Pre/Pro - http://www.outlawaudio.com/products/990.html
Magnepan 2.6r Review - http://www.audioasylum.com/cgi/m.pl?forum=MUG&n=64953&review=1

Thanks!
- T

Comments

• GadgetGadget Posts: 4,915
    T,