Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General Configuration Wizard

286s as processor only?

marktmarkt Posts: 18
edited December 2012 in Configuration Wizard
I'm thinking about getting a different stand-alone mic pre for my VO work, but I like the simplicity of the processors on the 286.

Is there a way to use the 286's processing section only with/thru another pre? I've never tried anything like this before, and could use some advice. I've read a bit about the inserts on each, but am still a bit hazy and hesitant on this.

Thanks,
Mark

Comments

• GadgetGadget Posts: 4,915
    I have a 286A... but I'm not sure what you are asking?
    Is there a way to use the 286's processing section only with/thru another pre?

You'll need to be more specific than this...

Gadget
  • marktmarkt Posts: 18
    Thanks for the reply. I'd like to bypass the preamp on the 286 and use it's processor only thru/with another mic pre that doesn't have any processing features.
    I don't know... I'm not real happy with the whole thing actually...I suspect that maybe you could use the ring on an insert but I'm not sure where in the chain it inserts the signal...
    Ok. I don't quite understand why you're "not real happy with the whole thing," but thanks anyway.
    well, you asked.. I didn't care for the sound, I didn't care for the dynamics section, There isn't much headroom.. I could never say that the sound was better than the preamps on the mixer, and that wasn't saying much to begin with...(used in livesound primarily) Perhaps a better mic preamp would be better..
    \
    Wow Gadget, did I misunderstand you! This is kinda funny to me now...

I thought you were 'unhappy' with the setup I was suggesting, but now that you wrote that, I think you were saying that you're not real happy with the 286 in general, right?

For my VO work, I'm used to the expander/gate on the 286 to get rid of as much ambient noise as I can, then do any more clean-up in my DAW.