Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriverRack PA & DriveRack PA+ PA Configuration Wizard

AutoEQ in a domestic environment

gasmangasman Posts: 5
edited October 2015 in PA Configuration Wizard
Hi

I am using a PA2 as the external crossover/DSP for a pair of home speakers (electrostatic/transmission line hybrids, bi-amped mid/hi & bass) and being a rank amateur I have some questions for the Pros if I may about the setup and particularly room correction/AutoEQ

The spec sheet for my speakers is as follows:

172Hz crossover 48dB/octave Butterworth
High Pass EQ = LP Shelf 6db/octave@243Hz +14dB gain
Low Pass EQ = LP Shelf 12dB/octave@38Hz +6dB gain

I am happy I have the crossover dialled in correctly and I have put the EQ numbers into the PEQ settings for Low and Mid/High (I'm hoping that's right!!)

The I run AutoEQ using 4 mic positions and an AKG C451EB

Attached is a screen grab of the outcome and the room response looks pretty ugly (to me as I haven't seen many!)

A couple of questions about this

The Result and Target look to be quite far out to me or is that, under the circumstances, a reasonable result? How close to the ideal target should one be trying to get (given that this in effect a static setup I can take my time to do this right)

I am thinking that the AutoEQ applies 8 PEQ filters to the measured room response and it is these that are shown. I read somewhere (can"t find it now!) that some people use the AutoEQ wizard to generate the 8 EQs then manually add these to the PEQ and then rerun the wizard. Have I understood that correctly? And if so, what is the advantage and do I simply override my existing PEQ that I have added from the spec sheet?

Sorry if this is all a bit 'noob' and especially if my use of terminology is somewhat imprecise!

Thank you

Neill

Comments

• DraDra Posts: 3,777