Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General Connectivity

Setting ups a dvx PA 2 with a Peavey 8660d powered mixer

Shamus51Shamus51 Posts: 8
edited December 2016 in Connectivity
I am a newbie, as you can see from the heading of this question. I have a small 5 piece band that plays indoors and outdoors for various events. I have an 8600d powered mixer that I attach to 2 15 inch passive Peavey speakers, and 2 12 inch passive speakers both put in service about 1995!. They were lightly used in a church and are in perfect condition, and sound quite good.

As you can tell, my system is a budget system. In an attempt to make it easier for sound set-up, and to improve overall sound, I am going to try to add a dbx PA 2 to the system.

It appears to me at least, that I could use the inputs on the front of the 8600d using the main out and monitor out route to the dbx, then take the dbx out back to the power amp 1 and power amp 2 to get the sound back into the power mixer, which will then go to the speakers(1/4 inch jack again).

I understand that I have to use some cord adapters to get the 1/4 inch to xlr and then xlr back to 1/4 inch.

An alternative set-up would be to use a Mackie mixer that I have to take care of the xlr problem to the dvx on the front end, and then go back into the powered 8600d via the power amp 1 and power amp 2.

I know that I should fire the guy that thought up this set-up, but that is me and that is what I have to work with.

I could scrap the 8600d and start again( only a year old) but I'd like to use what I've got.

So any comment about my proposed set-up would be appreciated and welcomed. Other suggested set-ups would also be welcomed.

Thanks, JM

Comments

• DraDra Posts: 3,777
    If the 8600d meets your needs, leave the extra mixer out. Keep it simple.