Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriverRack PA & DriveRack PA+ PA General Discussion

Another gain structure question!

Kev ParkerKev Parker Posts: 4
edited August 2017 in PA General Discussion
Hi all,

I’m a newbie to the board and would really like some help. After years in the game I am trying to increase my knowledge and set my system up better. I’m sorry that this question is on gain structure and promise that I have read all the guides plus tonnes of information from the web but I have some statements / questions I would like the experts to confirm/answer if you don’t mind �

My setup – Yamaha 01v96 V2, Driverack PA in to EV P3000 (top cabs) and a (new) Crest Pro Lite 7.5 subs. I have already set the X-over positions correct but with flat gain.

1st - I understand all the principles around the gain structure but still am struggling a little as my desk is digital and I’m not sure where to set the levels. So, I put pink noise through a channel and bring it until just under clipping on the trim, now, do I put channel up to 0? How about the master channel – what level? I think I am getting confused with dbu and dbfs. As I understand it ~-16 dbfs on the desk will be about 0 dbu = 0.775v output so should I just work on the master output meter and aim for no more the ~-12 dBfs??

2nd- once I know where I am with the above I can go through to the Drive Rack. Some questions – what output from the 01v96 will clip the DriveRack? I bring the level up (master) on the desk until the Drive Rack inputs are just under clipping then move to the power amps with no speakers connected