Home JBL Professional User Forum JBL Pro Software

JBL Pro Connect APP all but UNUSABLE with PRX One.

I've been gigging for over 60 years and I've done stage sound as well as been a recording engineer and producer for over 52 years. I've also been a software programmer, systems designer and consultant since 1965.

I've been very happy with my JBL Eon One (and a pair of Bose S1 Pros) and also own a QSC Touchmix 16 that I thought I could leave at home once I got the JBL PRX One. Now I'm not so sure - which is very sad considering the built in mixer and APP was 60% of my decision to try out a PRX One.

First I'm quite happy with the out of the box sound when my Taylor 714CE was plugged in. As you'll see, that's a good thing. Even my music partner's cheap-ish Taylor nylon string sounded great. So guitar sound, Check. REALLY good. Even better than the Bose L1M2 I used to own.

Now the bad news.

The user guide for the unit is way too opaque but I'm going to struggle through it some more. It would have been nice to have a professionally produced manual with more pictures detailing the processes to control the mixer in the PRX One. The controls are FAR from intuitive for anyone who's owned different gear -- maybe they resemble some other stuff that Harmon makes?

For instance, it's QUITE disturbing to find that holding down one channels button to mute ends up kicking the unit into channel strip mode instead of remaining in mix mode allowing me to mute other channels without using the mode switch. That was a fun thing to finally figure out AFTER my 5 hour gig yesterday!

Compounding the problem was that you can't see the LEDS very well in sunlight so I couldn't tell what mode I was in on stage. Need another mode indicator?