Home AMX User Forum Duet/Cafe Duet
Options

Open Source Licensing Terms

I am new to the use of Open Source Licenses. I have found several open source projects that I would like to use code from in my Duet Modules, and I would like to be faithful to the terms of the license agreements. I am unsure of exactly how the licensing terms pertain to a typical AV control system implementation. Does anyone have any thoughts or experiences in this regard?

Comments

• Options
    GregGGregG Posts: 251
    It really depends very specifically on the license type. I'm not a lawyer so don't take me as any kind of expert, and I disclaim any responsibility or liability for your actions based on the accuracy of this post. (There's a license for ya ;-) )

Generally ones like BSD, MPL, MIT, CDDL and Apache allow use of the open source code in other works without insisting your own work also be open source. Some of them don't even require credit be given.

The lesser GPL allows linkage of a GPL module into a differently licensed master work (your deliverable main code), but any modifications made to the module have to be contributed back in source form, and the original source linked and credited.

The main version of GPL usually requires you to release any code you make back out again under the same license, and mostly restricts you from linking a GPL module(maybe a java library) into a non-GPL master work (your whole program) without having it also be GPL.

The AGPL is a version of full GPL which includes code you write only for internal use and won't be selling as an end-user install-able product. Including things like custom applications running on your own web servers. So if you link AGPL code into your custom weather data server back end for customer use, then you have to release all that source as AGPL. Of course, there is always the question of who knows what you used and how.

More data: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_free_and_open-source_software_licenses