Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio
Options

Getting into programming, recommendations?

Hey guys,

I'm registered programming 1 and will be attending in the next few weeks. I have no background in programming anything up to this point. Do you have any recommendations on resources I could use to prepare myself before the class?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    Download and install Netlinx and TPDesign4.
    Get familiar with SNAPI (Standard Netlinx API).
    Email me and I will send the PI course document.
    jim.donachiue@sharpsav.com
  • Options
    ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    Download and install Netlinx and TPDesign4.
    Get familiar with SNAPI (Standard Netlinx API).
    Email me and I will send the PI course document.
    jim.donachiue@sharpsav.com

I would let him get all this from AMX University. None of this is secret sauce if he is signed up with them. AMX kinda frowns on us sending out development software to folks not in the herd. It's in your agreement you signed if you check.
  • Options
    I did tell him to download the apps from AMX, I just thought I would send the PI course doc.
    I received the PI & PII course docs from AMX Canada before the course to get started.
  • Options
    I wouldn't want anyone to get in trouble, but it would be nice to be able to review the material prior to class.
  • Options
    PhreaKPhreaK Posts: 966
    Hey Tweaked, the trainer will run through everything you need in the class but if you're super keen to get started early check out some of the intro to computer programming courses available on that new fangled internet thing.