Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

Clearly I need a REST

As an Accidental Programmer I sometimes run across a problem that requires knowledge, rather than brute force, and I think this is one of those times.

I have one of the little Roku media streamers, which has external control support (found here):

http://sdkdocs.roku.com/display/sdkdoc/External+Control+Guide

I can establish a connection with my master on the correct port, but I just can't get my commands acted upon. I've tried various iterations of what's in the examples, but it seems (for example) a Home button emulation should be sent as (after a successful connection) POST /keypress/Home

At least I think so. If anyone can offer an educated opinion as to how the string needs to actually be formatted I'd appreciate it. All the online help examples involve various.cryptic.libraries that I don't have the depth to understand.

Comments

• ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    Jeff,
    Can you post the code with your string build too? Might help.
    E
  • Sure! Through the course of testing and head beating I've ended up reducing it to the super simple:
    DEFINE_DEVICE 

dvRoku	= 0:3:0
        vdvRoku = 33001:1:0

DEFINE_EVENT

DATA_EVENT [dvRoku]
    {
        ONLINE: SEND_STRING dvRoku, 'POST /keypress/Home'  // 'POST /keypress/Home HTTP/1.1' 
    }

CHANNEL_EVENT [vdvRoku,1]
    {
        ON: IP_CLIENT_OPEN (dvRoku.Port,'192.168.1.20',8060,1)
    }	

Thanks! I have the Roku up on the TV and I'm not on the Home screen, so I would know if this command worked.
  • nickmnickm Posts: 152
    Here's a snippet of how an HTTP header should be formed. This particular example is from my BoxeeBox control module which uses the same RESTful scheme (though different commands)
    DEFINE_FUNCTION AddHTTPGet(CHAR cShortURI[]) {
    	//---Add an HTTP GET request to BBox.Comm.cQue
    	//---To be instantiated by SendQue above

STACK_VAR CHAR cURLString[512]
    	STACK_VAR CHAR cHeader[512]