Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

TriplePlay Server (HTTP/JSON)

I'm hoping I can get some help here, as I am a fairly new AMX programmer.

I have a JSON controlled server, and I am trying to figure out how to use the commands given to me in the API.

All the commands are HTTP (made to be entered into a web browser)

After speaking with Tech Support, I am told to just use an IP_CLIENT_OPEN command and then send the string over port 80.

I am hoping to get some second opinions, and maybe a little help if at all possible!

Here is one of the commands given to me in the API:

http://<serverIP>/triplecare/JsonRpcHandler.php?
call={"jsonrpc":"2.0","method":"Reboot","params":[1]}

Any help at all is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Comments

• ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    In Netlinx it is important to keep in mind how the typical conversation happens in real time with a computer and a web server.

One might surmise that the steps are 1) send the IP_Client_Open() command then immediately send the string I need to send. But this is not the case.

In the real world, It happens this way.

1) Client asks Webserver to open a connection on its port 80.
    2) Webserver responds by opening a socket between the Web Server's port 80 and your computer.
    3) You are then supposed to know what to send to the webserver to get what you want.

it's step 3 that seems to confuse Netlinx programmers.

Bear in mind, the time from when you issue the ip_client_open() command and when you get the response from the web server that it has opened the port for you to use, is literally thousands of CPU clock ticks. Your entire code could have ran in that span of time.

So, bear in mind that when you issue the ip_client_open command - you are now waiting for a response.

The result of that response comes in the form of a data_event>Online:

Once you've issued the IP_C_O command you now need to watch for a response over in the DATA_EVENT[whatever D:P:S] you opend IP_C_O.