Home AMX User Forum AMX Technical Discussion
Options

Milliseconds

I am trying to get Netlinx to show milliseconds like you would in Java:

Java:

Calendar calendar = Calendar.getInstance();
calendar.setTime(date);
System.out.println("Calender - Time in milliseconds : " + calendar.getTimeInMillis());

Result:
Calender - Time in milliseconds : 1421893256000

Does anyone know how to do so? I tried in Timeline event

Netlinx:

TimeLine= TL_ET
long lRunTime;

lRunTime = TIMELINE_GET(TL_ET)
send_string 0,"lRunTime=',ITOA(lRunTime)";

Result:
lRunTime=6

returns single digit -- I want milliseconds - anyone know how to do this?


Comments

  • Options
    ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    yeah, the example of this in the help isn't very helpful, is it...

    Have your tried FTOA? Another thought might be to load the value into a global variable and look at it in debug and see what the value(s) is/are.

  • Options
    JOHNBONZJOHNBONZ Posts: 99
    If you go into Telnet and set Msg=ON, and then do some displays, it shows milliseconds in the telnet window - Great!! But I want to be able to show that in the netlinx code itself. To me getting milliseconds is fundamental programming in any language - I am surprised the folks at AMX do not give you a way to achieve this

    TELNET WINDOW

    >msg on (in Bold is the millisencds)

    (0001284161) INSIDE lRunTime=6
    (0001284162)
    (0001284163) LOOP MAIN TIMELINE TL_ET
    (0001284163)
    (0001284164) EVENT INDEX I=1
    (0001284165) LOOP nProcessSceneET=0


  • Options
    ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    JOHNBONZ wrote: »
    If you go into Telnet and set Msg=ON, and then do some displays, it shows milliseconds in the telnet window - Great!! But I want to be able to show that in the netlinx code itself. To me getting milliseconds is fundamental programming in any language - I am surprised the folks at AMX do not give you a way to achieve this

    TELNET WINDOW

    >msg on (in Bold is the millisencds)

    (0001284161) INSIDE lRunTime=6
    (0001284162)
    (0001284163) LOOP MAIN TIMELINE TL_ET
    (0001284163)
    (0001284164) EVENT INDEX I=1
    (0001284165) LOOP nProcessSceneET=0




    I guess I'm confused. I do code math and so forth on "right of the decimal point" all the time. You use FLOAT variables.

    You can do things like

    IF(fMy_Float_Number=0.003){//do something}

    Here's the text from the help file:
    FLOAT defines an intrinsic data type representing a 64-bit signed floating-point value. It is used to store small real numbers with 5 digits of precision.
    • Data Type: Floating Point
    • Sign: Signed
    • Size: 64-bit
    • Range: ?1.17549E-38 to ?3.40282E+38
    • Sample of Stored Values: 1.2345, 123.4512345e5, -16.3231415
  • Options
    MLaletasMLaletas Posts: 226
    John what i do when using the TIMELINE_GET function is use it at the top and bottom of my timeline (or whatever fashion works in your code) and subtract the first from the last.
    STACK_VAR LONG lStart
    STACK_VAR LONG lEnd
    STACK_VAR LONG lTime
    
    lStart = TIMELINE_GET( TL_WHATEVER )
    
    ...lots of code.....
    
    lEnd = TIMEINE_GET( TL_WHATEVER )
    lTime = lEnd - lStart
    SEND_STRING 0,"'Result: ',ITOA( lTime ),'ms'"
    

    EDIT: I just realized you are referring to actual time and not time elapsed, sorry this wont work for you.
  • Options
    JOHNBONZJOHNBONZ Posts: 99
    What I am saying I want the system to supply me with milliseconds. Once I have the value I can parse it out, store it, use float to display it etc. But the issue is system doesn't supply me with this info like I can retrieve in Java. Not sure why as operating system use milliseconds. I think the AMX engineers should allow us to access system time in milliseconds since it is behind the scenes it is already using it.


    Matt in your example, wouldn't it be nice to call a function, and at the top of function display start time, then at the end display how long process or function took to run in milliseconds. The example below does this but in 1/10 of a second so the values maybe the same if process takes less than 1/10 of a second


    FUNCTION.....
    "'START SORT CURRENT TIME =',ITOA(GET_TIMER)";
    .
    .
    .
    .
    "'END SORT CURRENT TIME =',ITOA(GET_TIMER)";




  • Options
    MLaletasMLaletas Posts: 226
    You might have to telnet into the master and get use the terminal commands to get milliseconds.
  • Options
    wunde005wunde005 Posts: 4
    The timeline_get command is returning milliseconds, but it's millisecond since you started the time line. I think this code example is doing what you're looking for. Sample output is below too.
    PROGRAM_NAME='test'
    
    DEFINE_DEVICE
    dvtp = 10001:1:0
    
    DEFINE_CONSTANT
    TL_ET = 1
    
    DEFINE_VARIABLE
    
    LONG                 day_in_milli[] = {86400000}
    long                check[3]
    
    DEFINE_EVENT
    
    button_event[dvtp,1]{
    push:{
        if(!timeline_active(tl_et)){
            TIMELINE_CREATE(TL_ET,day_in_milli,length_array(day_in_milli),TIMELINE_RELATIVE,timeline_repeat)
        }
        check[1] = TIMELINE_GET(TL_ET)
        send_string 0,"'0 sec: lRunTime=',ITOA(check[1])";
        wait 10 { //wait 1 sec
            check[2] = TIMELINE_GET(TL_ET)
            send_string 0,"'1 sec: lRunTime=',ITOA(check[2])";
            }
        wait 100 { //wait 10 sec
            check[3] = TIMELINE_GET(TL_ET)
            send_string 0,"'10 sec: lRunTime=',ITOA(check[3])";
            send_string 0,"'1 - 0: ',itoa(check[2] - check[1])"
            send_string 0,"'10 - 0: ',itoa(check[3] - check[1])"
            send_string 0,"'10 - 1: ',itoa(check[3] - check[2])"
            }
        }
    }
    
    DEFINE_PROGRAM
    
    


    Line 1 (09:27:21):: 0 sec: lRunTime=0
    Line 2 (09:27:21):: Memory Available = 208615600 <23704>
    Line 3 (09:27:22):: 1 sec: lRunTime=1001
    Line 4 (09:27:31):: 10 sec: lRunTime=9998
    Line 5 (09:27:31):: 1 - 0: 1001
    Line 6 (09:27:31):: 10 - 0: 9998
    Line 7 (09:27:31):: 10 - 1: 8997
    Line 8 (09:28:14):: 0 sec: lRunTime=53600
    Line 9 (09:28:15):: 1 sec: lRunTime=54599
    Line 10 (09:28:24):: 10 sec: lRunTime=63596
    Line 11 (09:28:24):: 1 - 0: 999
    Line 12 (09:28:24):: 10 - 0: 9996
    Line 13 (09:28:24):: 10 - 1: 8997
    Line 14 (09:30:29):: 0 sec: lRunTime=188016
    Line 15 (09:30:30):: 1 sec: lRunTime=189020
    Line 16 (09:30:39):: 10 sec: lRunTime=198017
    Line 17 (09:30:39):: 1 - 0: 1004
    Line 18 (09:30:39):: 10 - 0: 10001
    Line 19 (09:30:39):: 10 - 1: 8997
Sign In or Register to comment.