Home AMX User Forum AMX Technical Discussion

No RS-232 activity from AMX DxLink 4K HDMI RX to projector

Hi Harmans community,

I work as an AV Support technician and am having some difficulty with one of our AMX DxLink HDMI RX devices potentially not sending commands via RS232 to its connected projector.

I am currently troubleshooting this communication issue in an already established room, so i do not own any programming files etc unless i were to reach out to the original integrator.

A bit of backstory about the devices and current setup:

A DVX-2155HD Master controller that connects to this particular DxLink HDMI RX unit via DXlink ethernet cable and then a 3 pin phoenix block from the unit to RS232 connection to a projector.

When using the rooms push button controller to turn ON or OFF the system, this projector is not receiving RS232 commands to actually power ON or OFF.

The RS232 LEDs on the front of the RX unit have no activity, however everything else works fine (content is passing if you manually power on the projector).

The RX unit is detected in NetLinx Studio and is on the same VLAN as the Master controller.
Just wondering if anyone might have some tests i can try to confirm what the issue might be?
Happy to try some TELNET commands if this helps?

Thanks for your help!

Answers

• emdx71emdx71 Posts: 47

when you say its detected in studio, does it show that its bound to the controller in the online tree? the way you've described it, to me sounds like its perhaps lost its device number or connection to the controller. if you know what it supposed to be, then it might be best to factory default the dxlink box and reassign the device ID/rebind to the master. We've had to do that with a couple of ours. One day it would simply stop working, and a factory default/readdress was necessary. you should be able to find the device number through telnet along with if its bound properly to the controller.

• Marc ScheibeinMarc Scheibein Posts: 867