Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads AMX Hardware
Options

SNMP in NI-4000 Controller

Hi, im new to AMX and SNMP and would like some info regarding the SNMP capabilities of the NI-4000. Am I right in thinking that it comes as standard with SNMP? if so, how do I configure it?

Also throught the AMX controller I need to extract information from some devices that are non-snmp enabled, and thus I will need to create a proxy on the AMX controller so I can get this information from the devices. Is this possible using the programming API provided (Netlinx/java)? Or is there a better method to go about this.

Sorry if these questions are vague im just getting an understanding of the task I have to do.

:)

thanks

Comments

• Options
    yuriyuri Posts: 861
    extract information from some devices? like? please be a bit more 'unvague' ;)
  • Options
    pauldpauld Posts: 106
    SNMP? As far as I know no AMX master has SNMP, the NI-4000 Included.
  • Options
    i remember reading it somewhere, i think in the document thats included with every master, ill look it up

edit:
    ah, now i remember :)
    http://www.amx.com/techsupport/techNote.asp?id=473

edit2:
    damnit, pauld just got ahead of me ;)
  • Options
    pauldpauld Posts: 106
    Ok, I just found this, Tech Note 473 goes over SNMP with AMX products.

Paul
  • Options
    DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    SNMP is just another TCP protocol, and AMX supports it the same way they support SMTP and HTML ... you write your own code to parse it and format your commands.

It's analagous to asking if your word processor supports Italian - well, sure it does, but you need to know the language yourself first.
  • Options
    vincenvincen Posts: 526
    DHawthorne wrote:
    SNMP is just another TCP protocol, and AMX supports it the same way they support SMTP and HTML ... you write your own code to parse it and format your commands.