Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

RS-232 Control for Panasonic TH42PWD8UK

Hey everyone. I am really struggling here. I am pretty new to AMX programming, and I simply trying to talk to the plasma. I am using "Control a Device" in Netlinx. I have notifications on, and every time I send a string, I get a hex-based response, but it doesn't do what it is told. Each responsce is different, but it has never been the ER401 as the manual says. According to AMX tech support, I should be entering things correctly, but here it is, because something has to be wrong.
I am sending the command to to Device: 5001 Port: 6 System:1. The string radio button is chosen and the String Expressions box is checked. Here is the entry for a few commands that should work according to the manual and AMX.

"$02,'PON',$03"
POWER ON

"$02,'IMS:SL2',$03"
SWITCH TO INPUT 2

What is incorrect here?

Eric

Comments

• Joe HebertJoe Hebert Posts: 2,159
    Sounds like the baud rate for your comm port might not be set correctly.

You can set the baud rate by using Control a Device also. Same D:P:S. Message type = "Command" Uncheck "String Expressions. And then send the following string:

SET BAUD 9600,N,8,1 485 DISABLE
  • Set Baud

I thought I tried that. As a matter of fact. I changed the port speed of the other ports to 9600. Originally this device was on port 5. During my discussion with AMX, I seemed to lose communication. I would send a command and see the red light on Port 5, but it would not light up the yellow light for receiving a response. I switched it to port 6, thinking something must be wrong with port 5. I did check it, and it was incorrect. It was set to 38400,N,8,1 485 DISABLED. I set the baud to 9600,N,8,1, 485 DISABLED, and now it acts just like port 5. And sure enough when I changed both ports 5 and 6 to 38400, I do get a response from the device, but it is obviously wrong since nothing works. Everything in the manual says it should be set to 9600 as you suggested...