Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

Freelance Programming - Worth it or not

Hi peeps,

I work for myself as an independent custom installer (in Scotland, UK), mostly doing Home Entertainment System installs, i.e. residential.

Thing is, I do it part time at the moment and I'm not really earning as much as I'd hoped because I can only really devote evenings and weekends to it (not ideal for the big money making installs). Therefore, I have been thinking about other ways to grow the business, but also by working from home more. I visited a Consumer show recently and some AMX dudes told me that programming skills are in short supply, at least in the UK I think.

Just wanted to know if becoming a freelance programmer would be rewarding enough to merit the effort required in learning to program the kit.

My background is more in IT support so I guess the transition may not be too hard and I have already invested in an AMX Experience Kit and started the AMX Courses and it seems fairly simple so far.

However, is it worth continuing in my quest? What kind of salary can I expect?
Or will it promptly raise my chances of a stress related heart attack at a young age.....lol

Boab

Comments

• I work full-time as an independent programmer here in Virginia, USA. I started off in life 30-some years ago as a COBOL programmer, did many other languages, ended up in LAN operations and network support, then video conferencing. When I took programmer 1 I knew absolutely nothing about AMX. I was the only one in the class with programming experience and the other 7 were installers with no programming experience. I think that I had it easier than they did.

I do only commercial work for companies, government agencies, and schools. The IT background helps because you will usually be working with the IT department to get the control system equipment approved for connection to their networks.