Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio
Options

Vantage Controls Module & help

Does anyone have the Vantage Module de-compiled, the AXS file. All there seems to be is the TKO in the InConcert area. I'm new to all this, so if anyone could help me out with the essentials in getting AMX talking with Vantage, that would be great. Just need to send out serial commands to Vantage from AMX.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Options
    Vantage InConcert Module(s)

You don't need the AXS source file for the module in order to communicate with and control the Vantage system. Most of the AMX (or manufacturer) modules posted on the InConcert site do not provide source code - only the binary compiled TKO or token file. While this is a pain for those that wish to customize the module, we don't have a lot of choice. AMX says that many of the manufacturers do not permit the source to be released (or for the external control protocol to be published).

You can however import the TKO token file into your Studio 1.2 or 2.2 project and then interface to the module for control purposes as described in the Interface Specification document. This document is typically included as part of the module package on the InConcert site. It describes the command strings to send to the control module as well as the feedback strings you can expect from it. The package also typically includes a sample touchpanel file as well as a main program sample with device definitions and a module declaration example. So, unless you absolutely require source code, build a project and incorporate the TKO file to do what you want to do.
  • Options
    Joe HebertJoe Hebert Posts: 2,159
    Hi jjames,

AMX does not release the source code to their modules (although it would be great if they did.) All you need is the .tko file to get up and running. The module zip contains a file called VantageQ.doc which explains how to implement the AMX module.