Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

M2m

Hi all
I was wondering if AMX has any sample programs about setting up a M2M system and how to go about doing it? I've never done this before and am not sure where to get the info from. Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• Joe HebertJoe Hebert Posts: 2,159
    Hi Thomas,

Try Tech Notes 532 (A Practical Explanation of Master-to-Master) and 401 (What is a URL List and what can it do for me)
  • Easy as 1,2,3,4,5

Depending on your application it may be much easier than you think. To control a device on another master you don't really need to add a lot of code.

1. Make sure the masters have different System numbers (eg 111,112)
    2. Make sure they are on the same network and have IPs that can access eachother, this can be through a gateway or on the same subnet (eg 192.168.1.111,192.168.1.112)
    3. Add the IP address of one of the masters to the other's URL list (eg Add 192.168.1.112 to system 111's URL list
    4. Define a device using the System number from the other master (eg 5001:3:112)
    5. Program it as you would any other device

Of course there can be conflicts when having two programs trying to control a single device, so be careful how you write it. If one master is telling a relay to keep turning on each time through mainline and the other is telling it to turn off you will have problems. (I hope you do not have statements like that in your DEFINE_PROGRAM, but I wanted to use a simple example)

If you really only have one running "System" and the second master is really for adding ports you do not even have to write a program for the second master. Define the system number and devices as I said above then program it the same way as you would a slaved Axcent 3 or a card frame.

I believe there was another thread that discussed passing information back and forth between masters, I will find it and link it here.

[thread=3419]Found it[/thread]