Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

HVAC Control - DAIKIN Industries VRV

Has anyone used this DIMAX CoolMaster 1000 with any success?
http://www.xdimax.com/cool/cool.html

I need to communicate with a DAIKIN VRV system...and it apparently can "talk" to the VRV system via RS232. I would like to buy one and try it, but figured I would ask "the collective" first.

Here is the Daikin VRV HVAC system, FYI.
http://www.daikin.com/global_ac/products/vrv/index.html

much thanks,
roognation

Comments

• rcainrcain Posts: 11
    I'm very interested in this as well. We have a client that has a traditional HVAC system on the Main and Upper Levels of the home with a Daikin VRV-S system w/7 "cassettes" on the Lower Level.

I'm relatively new to the AMX programming side (been designing systems for a while though) so this is kind of throwing me for a loop.

I spoke to someone at Daikin last week and he stated they are working with ******** on a module but didn't know anything about AMX. According to him, there are currently no RS232 or 3rd party IP interfaces at the present time.

It appears to be possible but beyond my level of knowledge.
  • ellaella Posts: 3
    CoolMaster

Hi We are widely using CoolMaster 1000.
    I have tested it on VRV-II and VRV-III systems. The biggest one had 3 Outdoors and 48 indoors. So far it works just fine and there is nothing from Daikin directly that can compare to it in simplicity of connection and operation.
  • Thank you ella for the feedback. From what I understand this units connects directly to the Daikin bus with no other device needed from Daikin?

I also thought there was a solution to control the Daikin VRVs by IP using a device by Daikin?

Anybody knows any reliable solution for mini-split units other than IR?

Any solutions for Mitsubishi VRVs?
  • ella wrote:
    Hi We are widely using CoolMaster 1000.