Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads AMX Hardware

COM port issues

I ran into this recently... here is an email that I sent to Those Who Care within my company. Hope it saves some of you spending an afternoon banging your head against the wall.

--- cut here --- 8< ---

Be aware that AMX's NI-series controllers have some limitations with respect to their built-in RS232 ports. Due to a very small (64-byte) receive buffer on these ports, they will not work properly with devices that produce an even moderately verbose response to commands.

Today I encountered this on-site: an NI-4000's built-in COM port would control the Tandberg 2500... mostly. But when I tried to retrieve speed-dial directory listings from the codec, they would not parse properly even though I've been using the identical code for this purpose for a couple of years now. It turns out that it was because the Tandberg directory responses are in the neighborhood of 68 to 80 bytes, depending on the phone number and name.

The built-in COM ports are OK for Tandberg use if you're NOT doing anything fancy. "Fancy" means really anything beyond basic control: things like retrieving directory entries, doing far-end control of a non-VISCA camera, getting the far end's phone number...

Other "chatty" gear will run into the same problem: certain Sony equipment responds with 80-byte packets, and Pesa routing switcher status responses are about 145 bytes for a 16-output switch.

This is only an issue with the NI* built-in ports. NXIs and NXC-COM2 cards have a 196-byte buffer, so they're good for most applications. For gear that's extremely yakkity, we may want to investigate TCP/IP control if it's available.

The bottom line: watch out what control equipment you spec, and which device gets connected where. Yes, it means we need to know up front a) fairly detailed present and future user requirements and b) a good bit about the control protocol for the equipment under consideration.

Comments