Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

AVstaffing

I have been contacted by AVStaffing regarding hiring an AMX Programmer. Anyone heard of or dealt with this company? I looked up their webpage and it seems to me, they specialize in contract work. Not bad, except as a contractor, I would have to go where the money is. To me, that means a lot of travel. I am interested in seeing what they are willing to bring to the table, but it would be nice to talk to someone other than their hiring staff. Any comments?

Comments

• When applying for a job as an AMX programmer, is it customary for the potential employer to ask for code samples? It makes sense, so they can check out the applicant's skills, I just feel weird emailing someone I don't know, copies of programs I have written. This is all new to me as I have never applied for a job as a programmer. When I got all of the AMX certs, I just slid into a programming position with my current company so I didn't have to go through any hiring processes. I was already doing AV designing and implementation, so programming was a logical next step. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.
  • mpullinmpullin Posts: 949
    When applying for a job as an AMX programmer, is it customary for the potential employer to ask for code samples?
    No, it's not, how would they evaluate those code samples unless they already had a skilled programmer? If they wanted to know in detail your programming skills they would sit you down with that programmer instead and have you talk shop. They probably just want to sponge up intellectual property and pass it along to the lowest bidder who will take the job. I would not send your fully written programs out into the blue yonder, unless you edit them first with huge comment blocks saying something like:
    DEFINE_FUNCTION make_an_amx_max_work(){
    // Who in the WORLD could accomplish this task?
    // For $100k a year plus benefits, your company could!
    //
    //
    //
    }