Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion
Options

Firewalls

Has anyone used the Netgear FWG114P
ProSafe Wireless 802.11g Firewall/Print Server.
As am trying to stop people getting access to our network on the wireless side of it but only let the MVP8400 use it.

I?m using WEP 128 and MAC Address access.
But the clients network we our installing it on thinks this is not good enough for them.
My question is what ports do I open on the firewall to let the MVP only work on the WAN side.But i need to access the MVP from the LAN side to program it.

This is all new to me as I have no experience on Firewalls.

Any suggestions

Cameron

Comments

• Options
    DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    I think you client needs a little education on the subject. If you have enabled MAC address filtering and only entered the MAC address of the MVP, that is nearly as secure as it can get. With 128bit encryption, the only other step I would take in this case is to turn off SSID broadcast.

If, however, they insist on the firewall, you don't need to have the MVP opened on it at all, but rather your NetLinx master. All G4 connections go through the master (except G4 web control, more on that further down). Forward port 1319 and 23 to your master's IP for programming and troubleshooting. If you have a NetLinx application that requires FTP, open up 21 as well.

If you are also providing remote access for the customer, you will need to forward port 80 to the master, or 443 if you turn on SSL (which is what I would recommend). Activate master security on the master through the web interface. If the panel needs G4 web control, you will also need to open up port 5900; I generally make the panel a static IP and forward this port to the panel directly, bypassing the master's web interface. Others may be able to tell you what steps to use it through the web interface if this is a concern. If you are using G3 web control, you need to open port 10500 to the master.
  • Options